Week of Thanksgiving Series: Thanksgiving Homework

Me and Thanksgiving have a love/hate relationship. I hate Thanksgiving for many reasons.

Firstly, you know that your 2nd, 3rd, and 4th grade children will be bringing home packets of “fun Thanksgiving homework” that looks a lot like this.

 

 

Okay, I will admit that I made that particular worksheet up. But it is not an exaggeration. They all look like that. I am totally serious. Thanksgiving worksheets are completely false, they stereotype, and the assignment is rubbish.

They are meant to drive your kid crazy by giving them “fun” work to do, while they are supposed to be on Thanksgiving break. On the last day before Thanksgiving break, the teacher will most likely start a lesson like this, [read in monotone teacher voice] “Children, Thanksgiving is a time when we are thankful. I want each of you to write down something you are thankful for.” If that does not drive your child crazy, listen to what else the teacher will say, “On the first Thanksgiving, the Pilgrims invited the native Americans to a big feast. The native Americans were very thankful to the Pilgrims.” Utterly wrong.

And in case you were wondering, yes, the Thanksgiving worksheets always have a huge frame around where you are supposed to draw.

Wow, that rant was longer than I was expecting. Oh well. Tomorrow I’ll share something I love about Thanksgiving. That might be a short post…

xoxo

-Liza

 

2 thoughts on “Week of Thanksgiving Series: Thanksgiving Homework

  1. Do you think that the dinner invitation read something like:

    To – Indians,

    Come join us for a 17 course meal including glazed poultry, yams with marshmallows and green bean casserole with crunchy Funyons.

    From – The Americans

    IMHO – the Indians WEREN’T thankful for the smallpox. At least I’ve never run across a historical “Thank You” note.

I'd love to hear your thoughts!